Enter your fund to win this prestigious award and showcase your fund's achievements. First launched in 2019, only open to AREF Fund Members, entries will be judged by a select panel of real estate fund investors. They will choose one winner and two runners-up.

The Association has made a number of awards since 2011 to recognise achievement and contribution, by our members and others who support the work of AREF.

In 2019 the Investors' Award for Outstanding Achievement was introduced, whereby funds were invited to make submissions based on three categories, last year these included: governance; environmental and social impact; and investor communication.  The winner is then selected by a panel of investors.

To find out more information, including the purpose, selection criteria, selection process and previous winners, click on the awards below:

Investors' Award for Outstanding Achievement

Launched in 2019, this award, open to all AREF Fund Members is judged by a panel of key fund investors.

Members are invited to nominate their fund by stating, in no more than 500 words, how their fund excels and why it should be considered for this award with regards to any of the following criteria:

  •     Governance (candidates should consider more than the AREF Code of Practice);
  •     Environmental & Social Impact; and
  •     Investor Communication.

The panel will also consider supporting documentation, should you wish to provide it.


The deadline for the award submissions has now closed (23/10/20).


Please email

The Winner:

The winning fund will be presented the award at a virtual Awards Ceremony on 11th December 2020.

Previous Winner:

2019: UBS Triton Property Fund LP, for exemplary governance and demonstrable ESG achievements.

Affiliate of the Year Award

This award recognises the invaluable support many of our Affiliate member firms provide to the association in a variety of ways. Although this is often manifest through the efforts of one or two individuals, the award is to the firm as a whole, recognising the background support that the individual representatives can draw on. The award is judged on a number of measures, such as significant activity in a key area, hosting of events, or consistent contribution to our affairs over a long period. The selection of nominees and winner is done with input from our Management Committee, the Chairs of committees and working groups, and from the AREF Team.

Click here to view nominations for 2020 Awards

Previous winners include:

2019: CMS (other nominees included: CBRE, Charles Russell Speechlys, Deloitte, Vistra)

2018: Browne Jacobson (other nominees included: Eversheds Sutherland, Vistra, CMS)

2017: Intertrust (other nominees included: CMS, Osbourne Clark, Browne Jacobson)

2016: CBRE (other nominees included: CMS, Eversheds, Hogan Lovells)

2015: Eversheds (other nominees included: Hogan Lovells, Mourant Ozannes, Nabarro)

2014: KPMG (other nominees included: CBRE, Nabarro, Willis)

2013: Nabarro (other nominees included: Berwin Leigton Paisner, Deloitte, PwC)

2012: Eversheds (other nominees included: Berwin Leighton Paisner, Hogan Lovells, Nabarro)

2011: Ogier (other nominees included: Bovill, Eversheds, Nabarro)




Outstanding Individual Contribution Award

This is a discretionary award, decided by the Board, which is not necessarily made each year, but is awarded to an individual who has gone the extra mile in terms of their personal involvement in our affairs and their commitment to the evolution of the association and the industry.

Previous winners include:

2019: Guy Glover of BMO

2018: Joint winners:  Will Chetwood, Aviva & Melville Rodrigues, Charles Russell Speechlys

2017: John Forbes, John Forbes Consulting LLP

2016: No award given

2015: Paul Edwards, Legal & General

2014: Anthony Shayle, UBS

2013: Jenny Buck, Tesco Pension Investment Ltd

2012: Jenny Pidgeon, TIAA Henderson Global Investors

For further information on the AREF Awards please email: