11 December 2020 12pm – 12.05pm + Add to calendar Awards ceremony Podcast

We are delighted to invite you to the AREF Annual Awards for 2020, with a virtual awards ceremony, sponsored by Aztec Group

The AREF Awards, now in its 22nd year, is a fantasic opportunity to recognise the efforts of our member in furthering AREF's cause for the Real Estate Industry. Our esteemed panel of judges will be making their decisions over the next couple of months and we will celebrate our winners at a very special online ceremony. The awards will be broadcast on Friday 11th December 2020.

To find out more information, including the nominations, deadlines, purpose, selection criteria, selection process and previous winners, click on the awards below:

Who knows, perhaps you will recognise some familiar faces on screen during the presentation!

More about the award catergories: 

Affiliate of the Year Award

This award recognises the invaluable support many of our Affiliate member firms provide to the association in a variety of ways. Although this is often manifest through the efforts of one or two individuals, the award is to the firm as a whole, recognising the background support that the individual representatives can draw on. The award is judged on a number of measures, such as significant activity in a key area, hosting of events, or consistent contribution to our affairs over a long period. The selection of nominees is done with input from our Board, Management Committee and the AREF Team.  The Board and AREF Team then hold a vote to determine the winner.

We are delighted to announce the 2020 Winner of the Affiliate of the Year Award is Ocorian.

Previous winners include:

2020: Ocorian (other nominees included: Aztec, Carey Olsen and RSM)

2019: CMS (other nominees included: CBRE, Charles Russell Speechlys, Deloitte, Vistra)

2018: Browne Jacobson (other nominees included: Eversheds Sutherland, Vistra, CMS)

2017: Intertrust (other nominees included: CMS, Osbourne Clark, Browne Jacobson)

2016: CBRE (other nominees included: CMS, Eversheds, Hogan Lovells)

2015: Eversheds (other nominees included: Hogan Lovells, Mourant Ozannes, Nabarro)

2014: KPMG (other nominees included: CBRE, Nabarro, Willis)

2013: Nabarro (other nominees included: Berwin Leigton Paisner, Deloitte, PwC)

2012: Eversheds (other nominees included: Berwin Leighton Paisner, Hogan Lovells, Nabarro)

2011: Ogier (other nominees included: Bovill, Eversheds, Nabarro)




Outstanding Individual Contribution Award

This is a discretionary award, decided by the Board, which is not necessarily made each year, but is awarded to an individual who has gone the extra mile in terms of their personal involvement in our affairs and their commitment to the evolution of the association and the industry.  The selection of nominees is done with input from our Board, Management Committee and the AREF Team.  The Board and AREF Team then hold a vote to determine the winner.

We are delighted to announce the winner of the 2020 Outstanding Individual Contribution Award is Tom Pinnell of Langham Hall.

Previous winners include:

2020: Tom Pinnell of Langham Hall

2019: Guy Glover of BMO

2018: Joint winners:  Will Chetwood, Aviva & Melville Rodrigues, Charles Russell Speechlys

2017: John Forbes, John Forbes Consulting LLP

2016: No award given

2015: Paul Edwards, Legal & General

2014: Anthony Shayle, UBS

2013: Jenny Buck, Tesco Pension Investment Ltd

2012: Jenny Pidgeon, TIAA Henderson Global Investors

Investors' Award for Outstanding Achievement

Launched in 2019 and with a new criteria for 2021, this award, open to all AREF Fund Members is judged by a panel of key fund investors.

Members are invited to nominate their fund by stating, in no more than 500 words, how their fund excels and why it should be considered for this award with regards to any of the following criteria:

  • Governance (candidates should consider more than the AREF Code of Practice);
  • Material Progress towards Net Zero Carbon as well as transitioning the portfolio with regard to Paris Alignment for a 2 degrees or less world
  • Response to COVID-19 (including communication, actions taken with respect to preservation of capital and income as well as the approach to suspensions and Material Uncertainty Clauses.

Terms and conditions:

  • Submission deadline has now passed.
  • Papers can be submitted in any format (PDF/Word/Web).
  • Up to three pieces of supporting material can be submitted to accompany your submission.
  • Submissions will be treated confidentially

To Submit an Entry:

The submission deadline has now passed.

The Winner:

The winner for 2021 will be announced on 22nd October 2021.


Please email Clare on cwhyte@aref.org.uk.

Previous Winner:

2020: UBS Triton Property Fund LP, for the strength of its achievements in relation to Environmental and Social Impact.

2019: UBS Triton Property Fund LP, for exemplary governance and demonstrable ESG achievements.



  • Moderator & presenter: Adrian Benedict, Head of Real Estate Solutions at Fidelity International,and Chair of AREF

Adrian Benedict

Investment Director, European Real Estate, Fidelity

Adrian is the Chair of the AREF Corporate Governance Committee.

Adrian is Investment Director at Fidelity responsible for real estate capital markets and development of new client solutions. He has 20 years experience of advising on and structuring real estate solutions, having previously worked at Invista Real Estate, UBS Investment Bank and PwC. During his career he has been responsible for the launch of several listed property vehicles, the origination and structuring of senior and junior debt as well as the launch of both domestic and international property strategies. During his time at UBS, Adrian specialised in Real Estate Corporate Finance advising major listed companies on M&A, financing, IPOs and Credit Ratings.
Adrian joined Fidelity in 2008 and is part of the Senior Management team. He holds a MEng in Civil Engineering, is a qualified Chartered Accountant (ICAEW) and an FSA approved person. He is also a member of the IPF’s Residential Special Interest Group

Broadcast on Friday 11th December 2020



The recording of the awards ceremony will be sent out to all AREF members and will be available on the AREF website. 

You can interact and start discussions about this event through our LinkedIn page (click here to join), or via Twitter using the hashtag #AREFAwards2020


This series is proudly sponsored by: Aztec Group

You do not need to book onto this event, a recording will be sent out to all members on Friday 11th December. If you wish to be added to the AREF database please send your details to info@aref.org.uk